Home > Girls, Life, Personal, Poetry, Relationships, Thoughts > The Simple Life

The Simple Life

This poem was an attempt to write down how I feel when I stroke our pet rabbit sometimes. He’s so cute, when you stroke him he often lies down and just sits there like he’s really enjoying it. In those moments, especially on a sunny day like yesterday, it is almost as comforting as having a girl there – but the moment you stop, you realise how empty you really feel, how much you long for human contact. It kinda fails as a poem, it sounds a bit weird to be honest, but at the same time it’s how I feel so – I’m putting it out there and letting ‘the public’ decide, as it were.


I lie there
Stroking your hair
We’re both just content
To stop and to stare

I look up, gazing
At the clear blue sky
Wondering why I
Aren’t with my own kind

I slowly stand up
Give you one last stroke
You wander off
Back to nibbling the grass

It’s nice to lay there
To stroke your fur
But at the end of the day
You’re not her

  1. Inma
    02/07/2012 at 11:33 am

    Yeah! Love it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share Your Thoughts

