Principles & Taking Advantage

The other day the girlfriend of one of my best friends posted on fb that she was single. My first thought was, naturally, that it was a terrible shame – they’ve been together for 4 years or so, seem really happy together and are so cute together. Yet less than an hour later I’d had another thought about it; of how I’d kinda liked her a little and this could be an opportunity for me. I rather offended myself with that thought. I pride myself on being a ‘principled’ person and in my book, even if you do fancy your friend’s girlfriend or only-just-ex-girlfriend, then you should not act on it. To do so would not just make the friendship awkward but also be a violation of the manly code of conduct where you must be respectful of the man’s feelings when it comes to women. Okay, it may be an outdated concept and seem a little silly, but it simply makes sense. You wouldn’t want it have done to you, so you should not do it to others. In that way, everybody wins in the long run.

  1. 22/05/2012 at 7:01 pm

    I figure that FB must cause a lot of conflict, which is one reason I refuse to join it.

  2. 23/05/2012 at 1:32 pm

    I agree that it’s just not acceptable to date someone who’s been with your friends. It just doesn’t feel right to me. I feel like I’m in the minority; pretty much everyone my age seems to be sleeping with anyone and everyone, their best friend’s ex, their friend’s wife…

    However, I do know that sometimes you can’t help how you feel. I firmly believe that, if you don’t act on a feeling, it’s okay.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share Your Thoughts

