Home > Girls, Life, Personal, Self-reflection, Thoughts > Gone to the Glasses Side

Gone to the Glasses Side

For several years now – about 5 I think – I’ve known I’ve had a weak muscle in one of my eyes, and I’ve had 2 pairs of glasses in that time. The first pair I never wore, because I was too embarassed. The latest pair I got about a year ago, and I’ve worn them occasionally when I’m at home at once when I went into uni, because I’d been working hard on my dissertation and my eyes were feeling the strain.

But in the last few weeks I’ve been getting increasingly worried about my weak-muscled eye. When I look in the mirror I’m pretty sure this is slowly turning into a full-blown lazy eye. Given the way I look anyway, the last thing I need is to develop a proper lazy eye.

So I’m going to be wearing my glasses pretty much all the time now I think, except for maybe when I go out to town or something like that. Hopefully this will stop it getting any worse, even if it is too late to correct it in any way. I’d much rather wear glasses than have a lazy eye. Glasses can look kinda cool – a lazy eye is perhaps one of the worst (no offence to any people who have this unfortunate condition), because of its prominence, especially in romantic situations where the eye is a major focus point, things to have.

I just hope that by using my glasses much more from now on that it won’t get any worse 😐

  1. 18/04/2012 at 2:55 pm

    Bad move neglecting the glasses, mate. There’s really no good excuse for that. Just put ’em on and own it. If it wasn’t for the fact that I have no peripheral vision with my glasses (I usually wear contacts) I’d wear them every day. Such a great accessory.

  2. bmweed
    19/04/2012 at 7:06 am

    I’ve got something like 8 pairs. Seriously, for a shy person, glasses are amazing. You get to hide behind them, without looking like you are hiding. Also, if you are a little outgoing, you can get really amazing statement pairs. I’ve got a pair that have really thin frames in titanium (osiris) , and a bright red pair of plastic ones (red or dead) and everything inbetween.
    As the person above me said, there is no excuse for not putting them on – you are letting your vanity dictate your personal health and wellbeing. Not cool.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share Your Thoughts

