Home > Girls, Life, Personal, Relationships, Significant Events, Thoughts > An Interesting Phone Call

An Interesting Phone Call

I know I recently said I’d had enough with J-O, that this time I meant it. I couldn’t keep it up. Not even for a week. I decided to send J-O a Christmas card. I re-liked the photo album of her in Cambridge. As soon as I did that we had a chat, about what she’s been doing recently and things, and we seemed to be ok again. I then bought her a small Christmas present, something I had been thinking about before. Then on Friday I called her and asked if she wanted to meet up, but she said she had a lot of work to do so couldn’t see me until after her mum visits her for Christmas (somewhat denting my present-giving plan). I asked if she’d got the card and she said she hadn’t.

Today, unexpectedly, I got a call from her. When I picked up the phone I could hear she was crying. She said that she had just opened my Christmas card and it made her cry. We had a little chat about how she was – I was planning to call her today anyway – and at the end I said ‘I miss you’, as I did on Friday, yet this time she said it back. I’m not sure why it made her cry. I’m pretty sure it was just a friendly card, nothing emotional, apart from my usual ‘always yours’ bit when signing off. The annoying thing is, I usually write down what I write to her, so I have my own record of full correspondence between us, but I thought this wouldn’t be important, so didn’t warrant writing down what I wrote.

I’d like to think it’s because she’s just realised that she misses me, but I don’t think that’s it. I think it’s more to do with the fact nearly all her friends have gone home for Christmas while she is stuck in her halls with 3 essays to write. Although, she did say today that her roommate is actually staying there with her, she didn’t go home, presumably to keep J-O company, as she apparently only lives 1 hour away. So I may not be able to stay if I do go visit her (although, if she is only 1 hour away it means it’s not difficult for her to go home for a bit if J-O would like me to stay).

As for the Christmas present thing, it should arrive on Wednesday, so I may be able to see her Thursday, before her mum arrives. Even if she’s not finished her essays, I’m sure if I say I have a present, she’d let me come see her. I would let her work though if we did meet up and she needed to work, I don’t want to disrupt her uni work. I think we could work out a compromise in which I could see her but also let her get on with her work. Maybe I could say I’d just want to meet in the early evening; she’d probably be fine with that. She can work in the afternoon and have some fun with me in the evening. Everybody wins. Right?

  1. Kathryn Sheriden
    18/12/2011 at 10:56 pm

    Everybody wins? Pah!

    Do you hear yourself? “She’s all alone, there’s no one else around to hang out with her, I’ll have a present, I’ll just sit and watch while she gets on with her day…” Of course she’ll want to see you, she’s lonely and you’re making yourself available to her again. I suspect that, come January when all her friends are back in town, you’ll be persona non grata again! Stop letting this girl treat you like her “dial a buddy”!

    Also, I think it’s highly unfair of you to expect her roomate to clear off just because you want a little something-something. If she’s staying there to keep JO company, that’s doing her a favour. If I was doing someone a favour like that, I’ll tell her where to shove it if she threw me out at short notice just because some dude came along!

    • 18/12/2011 at 11:03 pm

      You make a good point but I’m not sure her roommate will stay the whole time, since I suspect (although I’m not sure) that her mum will sleep in her room when she stays (since obviously it doesn’t cost her anything) so her roommate won’t be there the whole time. But I can see where you are coming from with the other points.

  2. 19/12/2011 at 8:12 pm

    I’ve nominated you for a blogging award – http://halfwaybetweenthegutter.wordpress.com/2011/12/19/an-award/

    You don’t have to participate, but just wanted to let you know.

    • 19/12/2011 at 8:24 pm

      I won’t be participating but thanks a lot for the award and the praise 🙂 It’s nice to hear people find my blog so interesting, especially since I don’t really see it that way myself. Thanks again.

      • 19/12/2011 at 8:25 pm

        No worries about not partcipating, I’m not expecting anybody to. I just thought I’d be a good excuse to give some praise for the blogs I really like.

        🙂

  3. Amy
    21/12/2011 at 4:48 am

    Wow, such an interesting relationship!!! I stumbled upon your blog and read quite a few of them. I understand where you are coming from and why you have such great emotional attachment on her. You see, everything has its own reason and every relationship has something to offer to our growth. If we look at what we can take away from it, then the lessons we get will be much more valuable. The people who pass by our lives have their unique significant. And perhaps, J-O’s role in your life isn’t over yet. The relationship between you guys has gone through a lot of changes and transformed into a very different interaction now then before.

    I don’t judge her for her eccentric behaviors since she may have her own story to tell. Her personality sure is bizarre and unconventional but deep down, i believe she is a good person with feelings. She cares about you in her own way. Perception is everything. And to be able to get into a person’s mind and read their thoughts seems impossible. All you can do is to understand your inner motives and be true to yourself. Let the rest take care of itself.

    • 22/12/2011 at 2:20 pm

      Yeah I think you are right. I know she’s a good person and she’s going through a lot, with her new uni life; the social and work side of that. I try to be understanding. It’s not so difficult now, I’m more at peace with it. I’m content to hold on to what we have right now, see where it goes. It it’s not meant to be, it’ll eventually end, but at the moment I’m content to let it quietly bubble along as it is. We seemed to have reached a ok compromise.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share Your Thoughts

