Spots

Whenever I look in the mirror, one thing always stands out: spots. OK, I only have a few. Yes, I realise that many teenagers have a lot, which I never did, so I probably shouldn’t complain really. But it’s annoying. If anything, they’re more conspicuous for their small amount, they almost make you focus on the few there are by the fact there is only a few of them. If you see what I mean. Sometimes I think I’d look fairly handsome if I didn’t have these few stupid spots on my face. I wash my face daily yet they don’t ever seem to go. I also can’t help picking them either. Disgusting I know. I try not to but it’s difficult. I hope they all go away eventually. Then maybe women will find me a bit more attractive. Maybe…

  1. 29/11/2011 at 10:06 pm

    I feel for you; I had spots (well, acne) throughout my teens and early twenties, and it does undermine your confidence. All I can say is that I grew out of it, and learned a few tips like not washing your face too much, not touching your face and trying to get enough sunlight.

  2. 29/11/2011 at 10:11 pm

    1) Don’t pick. I know it’s hard, but really, don’t.

    2) Watch what you eat. Scientists argue over whether this is true or not, but there is no doubt in my mind that there’s a correlation between the amount of saturated fat / greasy things I eat and the number of spots on my face. Crisps, cheese, ice cream, fast food, ready meals and bad quality chocolate are all off the menu if I want a clear complexion. However, I find that apples and lots of fluids (not alcohol) can counteract this sometimes, so if you do eat a MacDonalds, swap the Coke for a bottled water to stave off some of the effects. I make no promises, because your body is obviously different, but if I cave and eat crisps, I know my face will pay for it the next day. :S

    3) Cleansing face wipes, while girly, are your friends. Wipe before bedtime and when you’d usually wash your face in the morning – clean skin is spotless skin. If you can’t face the wipes, then at least use a face cloth and warm water twice a day, Alternatively, though I don’t like them myself, try a cleansing face wash cream, which you can hide in your shower and no one ever need know!

    4) Witch (it’s a brand name) spot stick and Sudocream are even better friends than wipes. If you do get a spot, zap it with the stick (it’s like a blue glue stick) and then dab some anti bacterial Sudocream on it. This stops the skin drying out and getting red and irritated, which stays for a long time and is almost worse than a spot. Repeat whenever you feel like picking – the spot will go away faster that way!

    Hope it all helps. I can’t claim to have 100% spotless skin myself, but it’s much better than it used to be and I know what causes them and how to make them disappear, fast.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share Your Thoughts

