Reflecting on J-O

It’s strange, but I haven’t really felt that upset about the end of my relationship with J-O. Although, yes, we’d not been getting on well for the past month or so, we’d had a year and a half of a great (albeit online) relationship. I’d have thought I’d at least feel a bit upset. But I haven’t. In face, I’ve cried at LOTR extended editions (that I just bought on Blu-ray and am seeing for the first time) this week but not about this.

This seems strange to me. I dunno, maybe it’s because we haven’t been getting on so well, that’s why I’m not upset. Perhaps I’ve finally realised that what I’ve been missing out on in life, love, a girlfriend, isn’t great like I’d imagined. Or perhaps I’m still partly in denial; we only met once so it’s not like I’m missing her in person so much, my mind can just believe that she’s just not talking for a while and will come back. It’s strange to not be upset.

I think something good has come out of this though: I don’t have to worry about relationships so much any more. I now know what I’m missing out on: a load of shit. It is a notion that feels very liberating. I must say though that I am still anxious about one thing: my ‘virginity’. Now that there’s not much prospect of doing it with anyone I like in the near future, I want to cast aside the notion that my first time should mean something, and just get it out the way so, just like this and my newfound ambivalence about getting a girlfriend, I can stop worrying about it.

It’s stupid, I know, but I’ve had enough. Though it hardly matters because nobody’s going to want to do it with me in the near future anyway.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share Your Thoughts

