Home > Girls, Life, Parties, Personal, Self-reflection, Significant Events, Thoughts > Interesting St Patrick’s Day

Interesting St Patrick’s Day

Man, Thursday was in many ways my first proper St Patrick’s Day (I’m half Irish, so have more of an excuse than most to celebrate it). I was in the Portsmouth Student’s Union from 12, by which time it was already packed with students. I had my first Guinness (yeah, I’m a late starter, I know) and also my second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh Guinness’. By the time I was ready for my eighth, 8pm, they’d run out of it. Well they were only £2.20 a pint (for St Patrick’s Day only). After drinking five, I got a free inflatable Guinness glass to go with my Guinness hat and Irish flag I already had. (Also, they were playing Father Ted, one of my favorite TV shows, which was great. I watch them so much that even on one episode where the bar staff forgot to turn the subtitles on, I knew mostly what they were saying and it still made me laugh.)

Anyway, me and a friend left the Union shortly after 8 to go to a friend of my friend’s house. At which point my friend said he had left about 1/3 of a bottle of rum there, which we preceded to drink. Not the best idea, I realised later (which I’ll come to). We also went to a shop and bought some beers – I bought a six pack of Bud bottles, of which I drank two before heading home.

I think it was ‘hitting the air’ – i.e. going outside – that did it. From the moment I stepped out of my friend’s friend’s house, I remember very little. What I do remember is almost losing my phone on the train back, and running to the guard to help me look for it, and thankfully he found it. According to my parents I stank of booze when I came back, and apparently when walking from the station, my arms were going like crazy even though I wasn’t actually walking that fast. That’s not the worst of it. What I do remember, is that when I was sitting in my room (apparently after being sick once in the toilet) I was sick twice. Right in the middle of my floor. My mum cleaned it up, me apologising several times as she was doing it. As she said the next day, she did not mind too much because I’ve not done it before.

That rum was not a good idea, I think that’s what pushed me over the edge. When I told my parents that I’d had it, the next day, my dad told me not to mention rum because he had a bad experience with it before which he can’t even really bear thinking about. I have also discovered more embarrassing things I did/said on that day, involving J-O, but I will discuss those in a later post. Suffice to say, I was very embarrassed when I was told about it.

  1. 22/03/2011 at 4:45 pm

    As I’m sure you saw on Twitter, I too learned about the evils of drink this week! I would say it was the Guinness that made you yark though – that stuff is like 1000 calories a pint, and it’s really heavy on your stomach. Or it might have been the 10 beers with rum on top combo in general. It’s best not to overthink it – just pace yourself next year.

    Also, my BF works in the bar, and he personally apologises for the fact that they ran out!

    • 22/03/2011 at 8:45 pm

      Yeah probably. Yeah, I’m surprised they ran out, you’d think they expect everyone to be drinking it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share Your Thoughts

