The Road I Know

It does not hurt
If you turn away
It’s the pretending
That brings the pain

Why must you torture me
Not admitting what I suspect
Put me out of my misery
Throw me back to the fire

I can handle the heat
I know the road

I’d rather have
The certainty of that road
Than the pain of a road
I know I should not be on

  1. 21/12/2010 at 2:35 am

    Don’t stop writing-you’re really good. I especially liked “Throw me back to the fire”–poignant image.

  2. 21/12/2010 at 6:15 am

    smart piece…
    enjoyed your word flow and message…

    Your link is currently under week 35 fresh poets to explore, you are not a participant until you link in your entry and sign an agreement..

    I invite you to attend Thursday poets rally, where you meet poetic friends and get encouragement for your work…poetry awards are assigned upon completion.
    Let me know when you are ready, the deadline is Wednesday.
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  1. 21/12/2010 at 1:53 am

Share Your Thoughts

