Home > Friends, Friendship, Girls, Life, Personal, Principles, Relationships, Self-reflection, Thoughts > Study: ‘Falling in love costs you friends’

Study: ‘Falling in love costs you friends’

A study has just come out, saying that falling in love costs you friends. It says that when you are in a relationship, your circle of close friends is reduced by two – one best friend is lost, and another replaced by your new lover (i.e your circle of best friends is reduced by one and another person is replaced with your boyfriend/girlfriend). This is concerning to me, especially with the upcoming arrival of J-O in a few months. In fact, it is a matter I have touched on about a year ago. I don’t want to lose any of my close friends. I know what it’s like to almost lose a friend when they fall in love – I don’t want to inflict that sort of pain when me and J-O get together. I know how much my friends get annoyed – and even angry – at how M and J withdrew into themselves when they started going out. We hardly ever saw them this summer.

I’m not going to let it get like that. I won’t not go to an event just because J-O can’t go. I won’t stop want to see my friends just so I can spend every minute of every day with J-O. People need to see more than one person for their emotional well-being. Not to mention that a relationship must surly stagnate if you’re around each other 24/7. I’m sure I can’t be the only one to feel this way.

  1. toomanyconverse
    17/09/2010 at 2:10 am

    I know exactly what you mean. A couple of my friends started going out and they’ve retreated into their own little world. It’s so annoying. I’m sure, though, if you make the conscious effort to keep all of your friends, it’ll work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share Your Thoughts

