Home > Important Films, Thoughts > Avatar 3D: The Verdict

Avatar 3D: The Verdict

OK, I’ll level with you: I didn’t see Avatar in 3D when it first came out. But with the whole movie industry trying to push 3D down our throats, I thought that now that Avatar 3D: Special Extended Edition is out, I’d see what all the fuss is about. This is my verdict:

Practically pointless.

OK, so I suppose I should explain why. Pandora (the planet) is a sublimely beautiful planet. It’s such a bright, vividly imagined world, so alien yet so believable. And that’s just in 2D. It’s so great in just 2D, that 3D doesn’t actually make it any more believable or engrossing. Not to mention the fact that the 3D is only really noticeable in a few scenes when there’s something small in the foreground like snow or ash. All other scenes just look the same as in the 2D version. Not to mention that 2D isn’t really 2D anyway; it doesn’t look flat, it’s just that the screen is flat – you can still see when something is in the foreground and something else is in the background.

Basically, I don’t see the attraction. Sure, the 3D is better than when you had to use the blue-and-red glasses, but it still isn’t actually that great. I don’t think it’s worth the extra money. And I think that Avatar is a brilliant film without it. In fact, I’d say the extended scenes added much more to the film than the 3D did.

  1. 08/09/2010 at 3:55 pm

    Avatar was a great film, but in my opinion, they released the new edition, just to make some more money out of it. I’m not going to watch it again, and in fact, I don’t even know if it will come in theaters here.

    • 08/09/2010 at 8:56 pm

      Yeah I know but I wanted to see the 3D. I did like the extra bits though as well, they helped flesh out the story more.

  2. 23/09/2010 at 7:39 pm

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/09/22/thursday-poets-rally-week-29-sept-23-29/

    hello, friend:

    I invite you to Attend Thursday Poets Rally Week 29, linking in a poem by commenting,

    Happy Thursday!

    love your blog.

  1. 04/09/2010 at 11:48 pm

Share Your Thoughts

