Easter

I’m Roman Catholic, and as such I’m celebrating Easter at this time. I even went to church this morning. Since my confirmation I’ve decided to only go to church on special occasions. Going today also reminded me of one of the reason why I don’t go much any more.

Singing. Oh, don’t get my wrong, I like singing hymns. But for the past few years the choir (well, not exactly a choir, more like a band) has gone all happy-clappy with their singing. The ‘conductor’ (for want of a better word) has decided that she wants everyone to be enthusiastic, to clap on ‘gloria’ and to make everyone look like they’re enjoy the hymns. Believe me, I enjoy singing hymns, but to go all U.S-style all-singing all-clapping singing just goes too far. We’re British, we don’t do that sort of thing. We’d rather just sing the hymns and be done with it, enjoy it in ourselves, not show everyone else how much ‘fun’ we’re having.

I wish it was back the way it used to be.

  1. puregreenjade
    07/04/2010 at 9:15 am

    I totally get this… I love traditional hymns, and generally get a bit uncomfortable with more ‘charismatic’ services with the enthusiastic reactions… it’s their way of doing it so I respect that, but I prefer the more sedate, contemplative type sessions.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share Your Thoughts

