Bored and Lonely

I haven’t spoken to J-O in days and haven’t really spoken to her properly in over a week, I really miss her. Added to that the fact that I’m really bored (I’m on my Easter break and should be really be doing more work for this essay I’ve got due when I get back) and so I’m going into a bit of a downward spiral back to my normal, fairly-depressed self.

Sometimes I feel like my entire life is played out doing one thing: sitting at a computer screen, be that writing on this blog, browsing Facebook or contributing to forums. I barely ever go out into the ‘real world’, and when I do, it’s only if I really have to. I have no real social life to speak of and my chances of J-O even coming over, let alone me getting together with her, seems to get slimmer every day. I’m never going to get a girl, I’m starting to think again. There’s no chance: I’ll spend most of my life at work, and the rest of it watching TV, gaming or browsing the internet.

I know, I should do something instead of whining to all of you about my ‘problems’, which pales into insignificance when you consider how bad many people in the world have it. I really am a very self-centred person, aren’t I?

  1. 05/04/2010 at 1:38 pm

    What happened to J-O? I thought you two were getting along so well 😦

    One of the big problems with our generation is our dependence on texting, email, internet… i.e. lack of face-to-face social interaction.

    SECRET: Women like a man that can handle himself in social settings.

    Maybe it’s time for you to push yourself out of your comfort zone and into the “real world”? Join a club or take a class in something you’ve never done. And when you see you’re not a complete failure in those things, your confidence will perk up… but it won’t get better until you put yourself in a position that is new to you and you can see that it’s really not so bad. And when you find the thing that you’re really, really good at (if you haven’t already), your confidence should perk up then as well.

    And I know you don’t know me in person and you might think I’m some weirdo voice over the internet, but I struggle with confidence too. Putting myself in uncomfortable situations has helped tremendously 🙂 Plus, I’ve got a lot of engineer-socially-inept friends and you are not nearly as hopeless as you think. Trust me. I’ve seen the worst of the worst, lol.

    • 05/04/2010 at 3:27 pm

      We are getting along well, I really like her and I’m fairly sure she likes me too, but she’s been busy with school lately so we haven’t talked much. 😦
      Yeah I might try and push the boat out with joining societies at uni next year, I’m a member of two this year but I never go to one and the other isn’t on much. Hopefully that’ll help next (academic) year.

  1. 02/01/2011 at 8:54 pm

Share Your Thoughts

