The Worm

The little worm wants to go there
Into the hot, wet tunnel
But it can only watch
That place is blocked to him

It can only imagine
What it must be like
For the other worms, his kind
To experience that special place

The worm hopes to go there one day
If all goes as planned
He can only hope
That he will one day enjoy that place

  1. puregreenjade
    07/04/2010 at 9:17 am

    Hahahha oh my god, is that what I think it is =p ‘Worm’ conjures up funny mental images too lol

    • 07/04/2010 at 10:24 am

      Well, all I’ll say is that poetry does often use metaphors to get their point across in a less obvious way 😉

  2. dave
    07/04/2010 at 11:37 am

    I think you need to make your metaphors a little more subtle though. I appreciate the feeling behind your poem but descriptions like the ‘hot wet tunnel’ are just a bit too crude to be poetic! 😛

    • 07/04/2010 at 12:43 pm

      Yeah, I know, tell me about it. It’s one of those things where you think you have a good idea, start to write it down, slowly realising it’s not working, then by the end you realise it was clearly an awful idea in the first place. I thought I would post it anyway though, since I’ve never said I was any good.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share Your Thoughts

