Random Skype Messages

Okay, what I’m about to tell you will probably make you worried, I know. The other day somebody randomly contacted me on Skype, and we started talking. I know, it’s the cardinal rule of internet safety not to talk to strangers who message you, but I did reply. I should have probably blocked her straight away, I know, but I thought I’d at least check if this was a genuine person. I didn’t do it with my guard down – I was ready to block her the moment she looked like a spambot, e.g posting links, asking for money, personal details e.t.c. But I did still want to check if it was a real person reaching out to me, for whatever reason. The first part of the conversation went as follows, and as you can see, I have questioned her about why she contacted me and have retained scepticism of her motives:
me: who is this?
her: my name is ()
are u there
me: what do you want?
her: are you from Southampton ?
me: yes
her: i am going to study in the Southampton Solent Uni
me: oh right
her: you know
and i just would like to spek with someone who lives there to get to know
some new information something like that
(she lives in Bulgaria)
me: oh right
how did u get my skype, out of interest?
her: i just was looking for anyone from there
nothing special
me: oh right
her: 🙂
So, to my mind, she seems genuine – she even added me on Facebook and it seems to be a proper profile, and we have talked several times on Skype since. However, I am not yet entirely convinced – I’m not stupid (one of my friends has advised me to stay away, saying she might be a honey-trap). If she does turn out to be trying to get something from me, I will block her. I’ve been using the internet since I was about 13, so I’m not going to be hoodwinked.
But she does seem genuine, so, for the moment, I’m going to keep in contact with her. She seems like a nice person, and seems genuinely interested in what Southampton is like, as well as generally talking about stuff. However, she has once or twice used the ‘kiss’ emoticon when talking to me, which would support my friends honey-trap theory. When she did that, I just put ‘lol’ – even if she is being genuinely nice, or likes me or whatever, I’m not used to it and am certainly not returning the gestures.
So what do you guys think – am I right or wrong to keep talking to her? Has the fact this is a girl, willing talking to me, clouded my judgement on this one? Or am I just too nice?
  1. 16/02/2010 at 7:34 pm

    Random comment from me, why you put politics Tag on this post 😉

    • 16/02/2010 at 7:39 pm

      Because it’s about internet safety – a very hot topic around the world at the moment.

  2. chelss
    02/08/2010 at 5:13 am

    totally talk to her but ur on the right road if she wants to meet up only go with like 2 other people! dont go alone, just in case 🙂

  3. 03/12/2010 at 8:44 pm

    Old post – but thought I’d comment; you can usually tell spam bots because they ‘forget’… eg. she told you ages ago she’s from Bulgaria right? Then look something up online and ask her about it. If the answer is nearly correct or very indepth you’re fine – if the bot doesn’t know what you’re talking about then delete ;).

    • 03/12/2010 at 8:48 pm

      Yeah I get your point but it could also be an actual person behind it instead of a bot.
      Thanks for the comment though.

  1. 02/03/2010 at 10:09 pm
  2. 02/01/2011 at 8:54 pm

Share Your Thoughts

