Protective Paternalism

She said she must be ugly
She said she can’t be pretty
Because of that rejection
But I think, on closer inspection
Of her personality, that, even if true
Is not really the point

I said she is not ugly
I said she is pretty
But I said also that she is nice
Which is what counts, was my advice
For if a man likes your body only
Then I am sorry, it will not last

I said that it is his loss
I said that he was not right for her
I hate to see a girl rejected
I said these things to keep her protected
For the feelings of a kind soul need it
Or else the kindness is lost forever

  1. 24/01/2010 at 7:56 pm

    I’m not a big fan of poetry, but I like this poem a lot.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share Your Thoughts

