Home > Friends, Girls, Life, Personal, Principles, Self-reflection, Thoughts > Talk To Me Properly, Or Don’t Bother At All

Talk To Me Properly, Or Don’t Bother At All

Picture the scene. You’re talking to someone and halfway through they suddenly walk away and play a video game for 5 minutes, come back and expect you to carry on like nothing has happened. That’s what has essentially what happened the last few times I’ve talked to M on MSN. I’d be talking to her and she’d take about 5 minutes later finally reply. If you’re going to go on MSN and talk to people, do so. If you want to sign off MSN and play a game, do so. Don’t try and do both and end up being very rude and have to pause your game every 5 minutes to go back to your computer to reply. After a while she said “brb” (be right back), and only came back 20 minutes later when I was going to say goodbye, at which point she revealed she’d decided to fire up her Xbox.

I just don’t understand it at all. Maybe I’m just old fashioned, but when your talking to someone, aren’t you supposed to give them at least most of your attention? Does she not get how rude it is? Also, isn’t it simply inconvenient to try and talk to someone on your computer and play a game at the same time? I know I’d hate doing that. I cannot understand why she couldn’t just have said “I’m going off to play Dragon Age: Origins, see you soon, bye” or whatever. Why did she try and talk to me and try and play the game? It really doesn’t make sense to me. Also, it’s about manners, like I said. Is it not her basically saying to me ‘a videogame is important than talking to you, my friend’. At least I know where I stand, I suppose…

  1. puregreenjade
    06/01/2010 at 3:53 am

    I guess that over IMs, there’s a much lower level of ‘commitment’ so to speak, to sustain a conversation, since it’s much more impersonal than talking face to face and since a person would almost certainly be multi-tasking. I suppose that’s one of the drawbacks of IMs, besides bad grammar 😉 She didn’t mean anything by it.

    • 06/01/2010 at 7:36 am

      I do see that in some ways but I still think it’s very rude. Most people, if they’re on MSN, would mutlitask, yes, but not totally leave the conversation, basically, for five minutes at a time to go play a game. They may search the internet or browse Facebook or whatever but they wouldn’t completely go away for five minutes between each message.

  1. 06/04/2010 at 6:06 pm

Share Your Thoughts

