Home > Girls, Important Films, Life, Personal, Relationships, Self-reflection, Thoughts > The Truman Show (Important Films Part 1)

The Truman Show (Important Films Part 1)

Yesterday I mentioned that I have to start doing more interesting posts. Funnily enough, I came up with one today! I just watched The Truman Show on Film4 and it was great. It was the first time I’d seen it. I’d heard about it before but never got around to watching it. Now I have, I have to talk about it! Also, over the next few days I think, I’ll discuss other films I have particular attachments to. It won’t be films I just really like, like Star Wars or Airplane! or something, but a film that actually means something to me.

For those of you who don’t know The Truman Show, it stars Jim Carrey (one of my favourite actors) as a man called Truman whose life is a reality soap opera, televised 24/7 to billions across the globe, unbeknownst to him. It basically shows the exploitative nature of reality TV (which I dislike), but I’m not going into that. I want to talk about how he ends up escaping from his constructed life.

Basically, he slowly discovers it through random events, but underneath all that, really, is his love for this girl he briefly met, who tried to tell him what was going on. His love for this girl clearly occupies his life and it is really his quest to find her that leads him out. I like it because it shows the power that love can have. You could argue that it isn’t properly love because he never really knew her, but somebody can still love someone just from one fleeting moment, precisely because it is brief and the person always wonders what it would be like if they’d got with that person.

I always wonder ‘what if’. ‘What if’ I’d done this, what if I’d done that. How that would of affected me. How it could have made me a better person. Practically every decision I make, I question myself about later. Why did I choose one path? Why did I not go the other way? Often I want to go back and change whatever decision – but I can’t. I’m struck with me how I am.

One thing bad I would say about The Truman Show is the ending. Yes, he escaped, but they didn’t show the reunion of him and the girl he fell in love with. That to me suggests that perhaps it didn’t happen and therefore my conclusion that this film shows the power of love falls flat. I really hope they did get together at the end. I don’t know what I’d do if they didn’t.

  1. 23/12/2009 at 11:41 pm

    If you liked this movie may I suggest enternal sunshine of the spotless mind also starring Jim Carey- it’s one of my all time favorites.

    • 23/12/2009 at 11:45 pm

      I’ve just looked it up on Wikipedia, it sounds good, might check it out. Thanks.

  2. 24/12/2009 at 7:15 am

    I think I remember seeing this movie. I want to find it and watch it again – it seems fantastic!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share Your Thoughts

