Home > Friends, Friendship, Girls, Life, Personal, Principles, Self-reflection, Thoughts > Guys and Girls Can Just Be Friends

Guys and Girls Can Just Be Friends

When reading this post on somebody’s blog an interesting topic, one I know a lot about, came up, on the subject of: Can guys and girls just be friends? I made a few comments there and decided to post them here also to share my opinion on the subject.

I know guys and girls can just be friends, I have a best friend, E, who is a girl. I’ve known her for most my life and I’ve never had any other thoughts than being friends with her. I’ve known her since the beginning of primary school, pretty much and I ‘love’ her. But I love her as a friend, not in any other way. The Greeks would say it’s philiac love, (which I’ve mentioned before in my blog) as ‘lifelong friends’.

It can get annoying though, when you’re that close friends with a girl. I get a lot of flak from people saying “do you want to go out with her”, “ask her out”, “you love her” e.t.c when it isn’t like that at all. I won’t deny that my subconcious, my body does very occasionally respond to her in a different way, but that is not how I think of her, and I certainly won’t let a few stray chemicals rule my actions. Of course your animal instict is still going to be slightly attracted to her because of the mere fact she is of the opposite sex, but if your mind still sees her as only a friend, that’s what you will be happy with, and that is the way it can stay, without any trouble. I know, I’ve experienced it myself. Don’t be afraid to be friends with the opposite sex – it can, and does, happen!

  1. 20/09/2009 at 4:51 pm

    Hey, you’re totally right. I am best friends with a boy and it’s lasted for at least three years now. We know each other really well and have gahhzillions in common. We fall out now and then but soon make friends again. I know that a few times in the past I’ve thought of him as ‘more than a friend’ but I haven’t let that take over – it would spoil our whole dynamic. All I do is see him a bit less and not let him know. I finally confessed this to him a few months ago and he does exactly the same thing! :O
    🙂 x

    • anonymousteenager
      20/09/2009 at 7:02 pm

      It’s nice that that worked out very for you, quite often things like that don’t. Good for you 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share Your Thoughts

