My Childhood Friends

There are three people I have known since I was about 4. I’ll call them J, A and E so as to keep with the ‘anonymous’ nature of this blog.

J is a brilliant friend but I feel we’ve drifted apart, but I don’t know how to reverse this.

A is also a brilliant friend but I fell out with him 5 years ago, I had blocked it out but I had a moment of clarity and apologised for what I did. We’re friends again now, it’s like we were never apart.

E is a brilliant friend also but I endangered this by something I said during a confusing period of my adolesence . I hope she didn’t mind but I’m always concious of us not being quite as good friends as we should be.

I feel that I value their friendships higher then they value mine, but I don’t care. However it’s probably also not true, it’s just me being stupid. We know each other inside and out, we’ve been friends practically forever. I will always love them, no matter what happens. I will be forever in their debt, for always being by my side.¬†Strangely, I found this quote from Frankenstein really pointiant on that matter:

The companions of our childhood always possess a certain power over our minds which hardly any later friend can obtain. They know our infantine dispositions, which, however they may be afterwards modified, are never eradicated.

Share Your Thoughts

